Saturday, June 6, 1942

-

Dear Diary,

Well, I did what I said I’d do. I listened to Bob Hope twice as hard this morning to make up for missing his short wave broadcast last Saturday. I do believe his show is funnier the second time that it is the first. I seems to improve with age. (Unlike other shows I could name, but won’t.) Bob discovered that in Washington there are ten girls to every male. He said, “To a soldier, that’s too many girls; it’s just enough for a sailor; but for a marine, it’s rationing!” When Bob asked Vera Vague if Bing Crosby was anxious for him to get back, Vera said, “No, I talked to Crosby, and he said you could just send it to him on payday.”

Leave a Reply

