Thursday, June 4, 1942

-

Dear Diary,

This is the proudest day of my life! I learned to whistle with my fingers! As long as I can remember, I’ve wanted to be able to do it. When I heard Red Ferrington do it two weeks ago, I wanted to learn more than ever. The climax came tonight. I got my bicycle back from the repair shop today (Gee, it’s purty!) and Jean was riding it around the block. I wanted to take a short spin, so I thought I’d whistle at her and try to stop her. All of a sudden I was whistling though my fingers. I wonder if Bob Hope can do that. He certainly ought to be able to, after all the practice he’s had on Hollywood and Vine. (if you know what I mean—and I think you do!)

Leave a Reply

