Thursday, May 20, 1943

-

Dear Diary,

I guess I’ll be seeing “They Got Me Covered” about twenty-one times, because they fooled me and held it over for a third week. And I said not long ago that I intend to see it once for every day it stays in town. By then I’ll know Bob’s every movement by heart — as if I didn’t already. Incidentally, I actually mailed that letter to Bob today. I only hope it reaches him.

Sunset had an awards assembly this morning, and I received a silver initialed bracelet for my hundred per cent paper in the Interscholastic League Spelling Contest. I’ll also get a letter for that as soon as the order can be cleared.

2 Responses to “Thursday, May 20, 1943”

  1. David Says:

    I have a bag full of pendants, pins, bracelets, charms, rings, and other trinkets that my mom collected, mostly during her school years. The necklace she mentions here isn’t among them, for some reason, but I do have a large metal brooch/pin from the G. & C. Merriam Co. (founded by George and Charles Merriam of Merriam-Webster fame) for excellence in spelling.

    • David Says:

      Whoops. I meant to type “bracelet,” but I don’t seem to have it or the letter.


Leave a comment