Monday, May 31, 1943

-

Dear Diary,

As a follow up of a recent Pepsodent advertisement entitled “How to Make a Date – by Bob Hope,” a new advertisement, complete with a lot of pictures of Bob, has just come out. This one is called “Keeping in Condition – by Bob Hope.” There is one very silly, but cute, picture of Bob making like Tarzan – complete with leopard skin. Underneath the picture (but it isn’t his hand-writing, so I don’t believe it) he states, “Maybe you won’t believe it, but I one posed for health magazines. Remember the ads that said ‘Before ‘ and ‘After.’ Well I posted for one that said, ‘Heaven forbid’.” Under another; “I’m the only guy who ever gets thin from over-eating. Every time I come home my relatives are over, eating.” This could go on, but I’ll mercifully stop now.

Leave a comment