Thursday, April 1, 1943

-

Dear Diary,

I believe Garry (ain’t I getting informal?) was a little better tonight than he was last week. Jimmie Durante took over Howard Petrie’s job as assistant to Garry in the “I got a new job” department, even though Howard’s still with Garry. I never did especially care for Durante, but it’s kind of cute the way he calls Garry “Junior.” It’s like Bing’s calling Bob “Junior,” only in a repulsive sort of way. Incidentally, Garry’s “new job” was, (it took six minutes to say it, the way he does it) “I’m the punk who dunks skunks and monks for the gink who shrinks minks and links in a four-story fur storage store in a tiny town in Tennessee called Tacoma.”

By the way, Bing sounded like he was feeling better tonight. But he didn’t mention next Monday with Robert.

Leave a comment