Wednesday, June 2, 1943

-

Dear Diary,

I bought an album of records today, and one of them was “Thanks For the Memory.” It’s a beautiful arrangement by David Rose and his orchestra. On the inside cover there is a picture of Bob and the rest of the cast of “The Big Broadcast of 1938.” Underneath the picture it says: ” ‘Thanks For the Memory’ was the big reason behind the single instance in which Bob Hope made his fans cry. He sang it to Shirley Ross in a touching parting scene that made him a national figure. So much so, that his next picture bore the son’t title.” That little paragraph gave me a terrific longing to see Bob’s first picture.

In listening to Bob’s rebroadcast today, I heard: Frances said, “Bob, do you think you can get enough gas to drive all the way to South Carolina?” Bob: “What? With my reputation! my personality! my siphon!”

Leave a comment