Tuesday, March 23, 1943

-

Dear Diary,

Bob was in top form tonight. The show originated from the merchant seamen’s training base at Catalina. Merle Oberon was his guest. One of the cutest things on the show was the commercial. Wen Niles sang it to the tune of “Moonlight Becomes You,” and Bob broke in every other word with something like, “Okay, now use your other tonsil,” or “I always wondered what because of Bobby Breen.” After Wen stopped singing, and talked for a while, then he and Bob did a duet. Wen then presented a letter from Bing Crosby saying, “Your singing is as good as Hopes’s jokes.” Then Wen added, “Isn’t that wonderful ? I’m so happy. Now I can sue him for libel.” Bob has so many good jokes tonight I can’t think of all of them. In fact, I can’t think of any of them.

Leave a comment