Tuesday, April 20, 1943

-

Dear Diary,

Bob was at Camp Hood, Texas, tonight of course. He really spread it on thick for the old Lone Star State. When he said something nice about it, the boys cheered, instead of booing as they did in Arizona last Tuesday. When Fran came on, Bob said, “Isn’t it wonderful how tall the grass grows here in Texas?” Frances said, “Yes, but I still think you should get a room in a hotel.” Bob said, “I did stay in a hotel last night. You know the Baker in Dallas?” Well it was nice of him to let me sleep in one of his empty flour barrels.” I don’t know why, but I can’t remember his best gags. One thing that struck me funny was Vera Vague’s calling Bob the “Lampasas Jackass.” Bob added, “All local stuff.” They pulled several gags and did one song that I heard them rehearsing yesterday, but they also left out a lot of it.

Leave a comment